News Bureau banner3
Kilcoyne Technology cropped
Dr. Margaret Kilcoyne was honored in Baton Rouge.
Louisiana Technology Educator of the Year
School of Business director recognized
Leah Jackson

NATCHITOCHES – Dr. Margaret Kilcoyne, director of Northwestern State University’s School of Business, was named the Technology Educator of the Year by Gov. Bobby Jindal. The Governor’s Technology Awards were announced Monday to recognize achievement in technology across the state. The Louisiana Technology Council, regional economic development organizations and chambers of commerce support the Governor’s Technology Awards, a statewide cooperative that recognizes technology achievements across the state.

The Technology Educator of the Year award must be a teacher or instructor in K-12 public or private school, higher education institution, technical or training company; must be an outstanding example of “Information Age Educator” using current technologies to educate, motivate and inspire students to develop careers in technology fields.

“I’m very honored to be the recipient of this award,” said Kilcoyne, lauding the support of NSU President Dr. Randall J. Webb, Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs Dr. Lisa Abney, Vice President for Technology, Research and Economic Development Dr. Darlene Williams and Dr. Austin Temple, dean of the College of Science, Technology and Business, for their support. “Of course, my students who allow me to model and use technology in the classroom.”

Kilcoyne routinely uses technology for administrative purposes in promoting the School of Business and bolstering student recruiting and retention by obtaining student opinions on classes and instruction via online surveys. She fosters business and industry partnerships by encouraging students to participate in myEdu as a network tool with prospective employers and uses technology for classroom support in face-to-face and online classes by posting class lectures online. She conducts group work with wikis, virtual discussion boards and chats. Both online and face to face students practice communicating in a virtual environment using different online tools in the classroom. She uses mobile technology to record classroom lectures, which is portable, discreet and more affordable than other classroom lecture systems.

Northwestern State business students utilize technology in their presentations and reports and explore current events utilizing Flipbook. The faculty provide all relevant materials, notes, power points, recordings and practice materials online and stream live video feed to distance students or those unable to attend class. Students also learn to use digital research tools and are able to submit assignments in a variety of formats.

Kilcoyne has been at Northwestern State for 25 years as a faculty and administrator and has been director of the School of Business since April 2012. Prior to that, she was coordinator of assessment and academic services and a full professor in the College of Science, Technology and Business. Kilcoyne assisted with the development and collection of required assessment items, assisted the director of the School of Business with accrediting agency requirements, managed Russell Hall and assisted with business outreach initiatives. From 2005 until 2010, Kilcoyne was director of business programs and an assistant professor, directing and coordinating five degree programs.

Kilcoyne has received a number of honors for her research and teaching from her peers. Last year she was named Educator of the Year by the Louisiana Association for Career and Technical Education and Outstanding Postsecondary Teacher of the Year by Louisiana Association of Business Educators (LABE). She earned the LABE Making a Difference Award in 2011 and was recognized by the Association of Business Information systems McGraw-Hill Irwin as Distinguished Paper award recipient. She currently holds the NSU’s Noble Morrison Endowed Professorship.

In addition to Technology Educator of the Year, the Governor’s Technology Awards are presented in four other categories, Technology Product of the Year, Outstanding Leadership in Technology, Growth Technology Company/Organization and Best Application of Technology.

Winners were announced during a luncheon in Baton Rouge Oct. 28.