News Bureau banner3
NSU gates5
The public is encouraged to attend the May 7 forum.
Presidential Search Committee to meet
Tentative timeline will be announced
Jackie Tisdell

BATON ROUGE – The Northwestern State University Presidential Search Committee will meet on the Natchitoches campus on Wednesday, May 7, at 1 p.m.  The purpose of the meeting and public forum is to go over the search committee charge, approve a draft advertisement and tentative timeline, as well as gather input from faculty, staff, students, alumni, and community members on their desired qualifications for a new president. All search committee meetings are open to the public.

“The University of Louisiana System has used a consistent approach to presidential searches for 13 years that is very open and inclusive. One of the most important aspects of this process is to gather input from the campus and community. I encourage all those interested in these searches to attend the meetings and voice your opinions,” said UL System President Sandra Woodley, who chairs both search committees.

The Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System launched the two campus presidential searches last week with the appointment of search committees by Board Chair E. Gerald “T-Boy” Hebert.


 WHAT: Northwestern State University Presidential Search Committee Meeting and Public Forum 

WHEN: 1 p.m., Wednesday, May 7, 2014

WHERE: Magale Recital Hall, Northwestern State University, Natchitoches, Louisiana

I. Welcome/Roll Call/Introductions
II. Purpose of Meeting
III. Northwestern State University Overview
IV. Charge to the Committee
V. Discussion of Search Process and Tentative Timeline
VI. Discussion of Advertisement
VII. Public Hearing
VIII. Other Business
IX. Adjournment

Voting members of the Northwestern Presidential Search Committee include UL System Board Members Edward Crawford III of Shreveport, Board Chair E. Gerald “T-Boy” Hebert of Kenner, Student Member Davante Lewis (until June), Jimmy Long, Sr. of Natchitoches, D. Wayne Parker of Choudrant, Mark Romero of Lafayette, Carl Shetler of Lake Charles, Robert Shreve of Baton Rouge, and Winfred Sibille of Sunset. Also serving as a voting member is Northwestern Faculty Senate President Massimo Bezoari.

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are Northwestern SGA President Kyla Winey, a junior mass communication major from Lafayette; Northwestern Foundation President Lola Dunahoe, a 1971 graduate in biology who works for The Dunahoe Law Firm in Natchitoches; and Northwestern Alumni Association President Joe Stamey, a 1983 graduate in accounting who is a partner in the Natchitoches-based Stamey and Miller Law Firm. UL System President Sandra Woodley serves as the non-voting committee chair.

For more information about the Northwestern Search including the meeting agenda, visit Questions and comments can be emailed to