News Bureau banner3
Aaron Laura
Dr. Laura C. Aaron will be recognized in June.
Rad Tech director named ASRT Fellow
Honor acknowledges professional leadership
Leah Jackson

NATCHITOCHES – Dr. Laura Carwile Aaron, director and graduate coordinator in the Department of Allied Health at Northwestern State University, was named a 2013 Fellow of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT). The honor will be confirmed during the annual ASRT governance meeting in Albuquerque, N.M., this summer.

The ASRT established the honorary Fellow category in 1956 to recognize members who have made outstanding contributions to the profession and to ASRT. Fellows have volunteered in leadership positions at the national and local levels, written articles for publication, presented at professional meetings and helped advance the radiologic science profession.

An active researcher and published author, Aaron has volunteered in several positions for the ASRT and ASRT Foundation since becoming a member in 1993. In addition to serving as a Louisiana affiliate delegate and as a member of the ASRT Grass-roots Network, she also has worked on several ASRT committees, task forces and project groups. She is a former chair and current member of the Editorial Review Board for Radiologic Technology, one of ASRT's peer-reviewed scientific journals, and has served on the Louisiana Society of Radiologic Technologists board of directors.

“I am honored to be recognized this way and proud to become a part of such a distinguished group of individuals,” Aaron said.

Aaron is a professor of radiologic science at Northwestern State, which is under the auspices of the College of Nursing and Allied Health. She holds the Carolyn Cole Saunders Endowed Professorship. For more information on Northwestern State’s Department of Allied Health, visit