News Bureau banner3
Rowing team wins four medals at Texas meet
By David West

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University’s rowing team brought home four medals from the annual Heart of Texas Regatta in Austin.

The mixed novice 8 A team won a gold medal while the mixed novice B team won bronze. The men’s novice 4 A team won a silver medal and the men’s novice 8 squad took bronze.

The men’s novice 4 B team, women’s novice 8 and men’s open four finished sixth.

Northwestern State competed against teams from LSU, the University of Texas, Baylor, University of Oklahoma, St. Edwards University, Rhodes College and TCU.

Members of the mixed novice 8 A team are Branden Savell of Greenwood, Richard Sloan of Shreveport, Rachel Opbroek of Keithville, Melissa Pesacreta of Lafayette, Andrea Walters of Trout, Ke’Airea Ferguson of Bossier City David Johnson of Denham Springs and William Welch of Vicksburg, Mississippi. Jennifer Simmons of Mansfield is the coxswain.

The mixed novice 8 B team is Terran Turner of Shreveport, Hailey Clark of Destrehan, Kayla Ryan of DeBerry, Texas, Blake Blanchard of St. Martinville, Casey Long of Shreveport, Anna Hudson of Natchitoches, Alexis Branch of Largo, Florida, and Craig Beilby of Shreveport. Alexandria Bailey of Kingwood, Texas is the coxswain.

The men’s novice 4 A team includes Savell, Sloan, Johnson and Welch. Simmons is the coxswain.

Members of the men’s novice 8 are Savell, Sloan, Turner, Long, Beilby, Blanchard, Johnson and Welch. Simmons is the coxswain.

The men’s novice 4 B team is Turner, Long, Blanchard and Beilby. Shelby Noustens of Destrehan is the coxswain.  

Members of the women’s novice eight team are Opbroek, Clark, Walters, Pesacreta, Ryan, Ferguson, Hudson and Sydney Yerby of Boyce. Shelby Riedel of Broussard is the coxswain.

Derek Donald of Leesville, Anthony Hunter of Morgan City, Jon LaCour of Ball and Kevin Norman of Goldonna were on the men’s open 4 team. Kevin Norman.  Laura Jones of Natchitoches is the coxswain.